Why Your SaaS MUST Start From Figma

In my humble opinion, knowing how to use Figma to a decent standard is the most important thing a non-technical founder can learn. Being able to fully plan and design stuff before committing time & money to development is a cheat code.

I’m about to show you why it’s essential for beginners, the tricks to getting the most out of it and why I use it everyday. Let’s jump in!

How I use Figma for my SaaS

There are literally hundreds of ways you can use Figma.

So I’ve listed out every way that I used it, so you can start implementing it the right way for your SaaS:

  1. Let’s say you have an idea for a new SaaS, and you want to pitch it to investors/potential business partners. There’s a huge difference between putting an idea on a napkin and SHOWING people what you’re thinking. A simple mockup makes all the difference.

  2. Before writing a single line of code for my SaaS, we designed EVERYTHING in Figma. If we want to make any UX optimizations, we mock our ideas up in Figma and present them to each other. UX is ultimately the most crucial thing to expedite you finding product-market fit, so it’s important to plan them out.

  3. We funnel-hack our competitors and screenshot their product/website, and upload it straight to Figma. Then we analyze what we want to implement, and design it for ourselves.

Basically, Figma should be used as a form of communication. It’s the easiest way to get your ideas across to others in a clear & concise way, so you’re both on the same page. No more leaving shit open to interpretation.

But… how do I get good FAST?

Practice.

Yes, it really is that simple.

Peter’s 30 day design challenge is the perfect example. He learned everything there is to learn about Figma in just 30 days.

On day 1 it took him 60+ mins to redesign AirBnB’s landing page… on day 30 it was just 35 mins.

I know it doesn’t sound like anything crazy, but these are HUGE improvements.

Now, I’m not suggesting you should practice for 30 days in a row. But doing 1-2 recreates will be enough to get you started.

So here’s your homework:

Go to Amazon and AirBnB’s sites (or the site of your competitor). Screenshot them and put them into Figma.

Then recreate them from scratch.

After fully recreating 2 complex websites, I guarantee you’ll know everything you need to about Figma. Then just do it over and over again until you become faster & better.

Here are a couple I redesigned when I was first starting out:

And that’s all for today! Thank you for reading.

If you have any questions/topics you’d like me to cover in future, just reply to this email or DM me on Twitter.

I also post on LinkedIn, connect with me there too!

Catch you next week to find out why your first SaaS should have competitors (and no, it’s not to funnel-hack them and steal all their stuff).

Ryan, The SaaS Guy.

Making SaaS less of a pain in the aaS, one step at a time.